What has changed in the Incoterms

Current version 2010 vs. version 2000

  1. The revised version of the Incoterms, valid since January 01, 2011, only contains eleven clauses in place of 13.
  2. They have been divided into two categories:
    1. The clauses applicable to all transport EXW, FCA, CPT, CIP, DDP as well as newly DAP and DAT, which replace DEQ, DAF, DES and DDU.
    2. FAS, FOB, CFR, CIF exclusively for sea and inland navigation.
  3. DAP replaces DAF, DES and DDU.
  4. DAT replaces DEQ.
  5. With CIF, CFR and FOB the transfer of risk only occurs where the goods are set down on the ship’s deck (previously: ship railing).
  6. New to the C clauses is the purchaser’s obligation to provide the insurance-relevant information.